{et cetera}

It’s no secret that I looooove Postcrossing for many reasons – as you can tell by the number of posts I’ve written about it and DUH! wasn’t this blog created for the main purpose of promoting the site? (For the record, I am not paid by Postcrossing to do this). Have I told you that Postcrossing isn’t just about sending and receiving postcards? For some magical reason, fate connects me to  the most thoughtful and generous members of the not-so-intimate Postcrossing community. So to all the people who threw in mini surprises for me, THANK YOU! *virtual hugs*

Here’s a rundown of what I’ve received so far, sans the postcards.

1) teabags from Indonesia

DSC_4533I’ve received teabags from elsewhere, but these ones have the cutest packaging. Plus, it’s no secret that I love green tea. Take me to Starbucks or Coffee Bean and I would order a matcha latte. I’m  thinking of sending out tea bags this Christmas but I don’t know which ones are good and which ones are bleh. – though I’m pretty sure they’ll just be shelved (in a good, souvenir-ish way) because this is what I do with the teabags I receive.

2) a bookmark from Slovakia

DSC_4671This one has a cute note at the back which says: Until the person does not give up, he/she is more than destiny itself (Remarque). I have no idea who Remarque is, but I appreciate how the sender thought his quote was the right thing to write to me.

3) an advent calendar from Germany

DSC_4708

My first advent calendar came from Bielefeld, Germany, from my friend Tina. She mailed me this just after she sent me a box full of surprises. We were exchanging e-mails when she asked me if I knew what a Christmas calendar was. I wasn’t sure if I did, so I simply said no. I’m glad I said no because I was thinking of Christmas-themed calendars like the ones I see on local bookstores.

My advent calendar makes my Christmas countdown more exciting. Beginning December 1, you peel off a slot(?) on the calendar. The slots are labeled with numbers so you just have to make sure you know the date and that you begin on December 1.  It’s December 5 and therefore I’ve already peeled off five slots. This photo was taken two days ago so this explains why slots 4 – 5 are still closed.

4) Dutch sweets plus one-year supply of postcards from the Netherlands
DSC_4691DSC_4698Licorice, Christmas letter (milk chocolate in the shape of letter H, my initial), customized postcards from MY FIRST POSTCARD RECIPIENT and now friend, Christian.

5) Washi tapes from Taiwan

DSC_4714From my friend Carol whose washi tape collection is bigger than her postcard collection. This is not an exaggeration; she showed me photos of her washi tapes. She also designs her pencils,  journals and journal entries with washi tapes. Unbelievable.

I’d like to add that, one of the things I love about Postcrossing is, I don’t have to beg or wait for December to receive a present. There’s no season of giving; you receive surprises all-year-round. 🙂

Leave a Reply

